I got an email recently for an offer to purchase one of the handful of domain names I have parked. This seemed rather fishy, mostly because the author of the email was accepting domain name valuations from only two web sites, and both charged for the service. A bit of Googling, and I discovered that this scam is described here.
Here's the text of the email, so ignore it if you get it:
We are interested to buy your domain name "imadumbass.com" and offer to buy it from you for 70% of the appraised market value.
As of now we accept appraisals from either one of the following leading appraisal companies:macez.com
sedo.com
If you already have an appraisal please forward it to us.
As soon as we have received your appraisal we will send you our payment (we use paypal for amounts less than $2,000 and escrow.com for amounts above $2,000) as well as further instructions on how to complete the transfer of the domain name.
We appreciate your business,
Yours truly,
Mark Allen



It's amazing the scams that are out there these days. Who are the people who are falling for these and keep scammers in business?
Given that the only domain I own is seabrookeleckie.ca, I would be a little suspicious if someone wanted to buy it from me...
Posted by: Seabrooke | 10 September 2009 at 12:38 AM
Wonderfully informative site-thank you-Betty
Posted by: Betty | 15 September 2009 at 03:29 PM
Very useful post !
thank u so much
Posted by: arun506 | 02 November 2009 at 04:32 AM